Published: Thu, August 31, 2017
Medical | By Carla Vaughn

AAP Gets Delhi, Parrikar Sweeps The Panji Bypoll

AAP Gets Delhi, Parrikar Sweeps The Panji Bypoll

Congress had got only 7.87 per cent votes in the 2015 assembly polls. Congress candidate Surendra Kumar, who is a three-time member of the legislative assembly, came in third.

Parrikar's victory adds to the strength and stability of the BJP-led coalition in Goa.

Also, the loss of the saffron party means BJP's game of picking a turncoat as trump card boomeranged once again.

The four Assembly byelections spread across three states have thrown up no big surprises. Rane is health minister in the Goa government.

The Congress was ahead of AAP and BJP in the initial rounds of counting.

The Nandyal by-poll was necessitated after the death of Bhuma Nagi Reddy, who had in fact quit the YSR Congress a year ago to join the ruling TDP.

The Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) registered a thumping victory in the Bawana Assembly constituency by-poll on Monday. Chief minister Manohar Parrikar managed to retain the Panaji seat that he had won five times previously and has been with the BJP for 23 years. Being held in the aftermath of AAP's crushing defeat in Punjab, winning Bawana was a do or die battle for Kejriwal as a defeat would have been a challenge to its existence in the only state where the party rules and which is crucial for its growth elsewhere in the country.

More news: Rain keeps pounding Houston, floodwaters rush past levee
More news: This woman is suing Katy Perry over a horrific backstage injury
More news: Amazon is already slashing Whole Foods prices by up to 43%

The Congress is hoping for a victory in the bypoll to open its account in the Delhi Assembly.

One of the 12 reserved constituencies, Bawana has one of the largest concentration of voters-2.94 lakh-and is dotted with 26 villages, colonies, and slums. In the Nandyal byelection in Andhra, expectedly, the Telugu Desam candidate Bhuma Brahmananda Reddy defeated his YSR Congress rival by over 27,000 votes.

The by-election was necessitated by the defection of the AAP legislator to the BJP.

Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia and Labour Minister Gopal Rai, who has been heading the party's Delhi unit since the recent MCD poll debacle, attributed the success to the AAP's track record in governance.

The ruling TDP and main opposition YSRCP were the only two parties in the contest, cornering 96.24% of the votes polled. The Congress finished third but put up a credible performance.

Defeating the chief minister in a constituency that has remained saffron - though not always with significant vote margins - for nearly a quarter century was always going to be a tough prospect for the Congress.

Like this: